My Stay At The California Hostel, Dubai

Back in December 2021 I stayed a week in Dubai. I had originally booked the QE2 Dubai for my entire stay but ended up checking out early and staying at the California Hostel.

Now you are probably wondering why I ended up moving. If you read my blog post about the QE2 I was getting fed up of having to get a taxi from the hotel to even get to public transport and the lack of open facilities on the ship was annoying me, so I ended up leaving.

The California Hostel is located in Dubai’s Jumeirah Beach Residence or JBR. As for location I couldn’t fault it. I went from a hotel that was badly located to accommodation that was in a fantastic location. I stayed here for two nights between 24th December and checked out on the 26th.

I stayed here for two nights in a 4 bed female dorm. My bed was comfy and I had a great view from the dorm. The dorm was actually a sea view room 😃

Sea View dorm
My dorm

The vibe around the hostel was great and everyone was nice and friendly. The guy who owns it was super nice guy, he even tried getting me to extend my stay.

As I said earlier, location was spot on. Just outside about 100m was a supermarket and there was even mini golf too!! A further 5 minute walk and I had a full choice of cafes and restaurants. I went from having no choice of places to eat, to I can’t decide where to eat as the choices available were fantastic. The beach was just across the street and it was only a 10-15 minute walk to the nearest metro station, making it easy to get around the city.

The Beach

The blacklight mini golf was awesome. It was actually in 3D too which made it even better. Playing mini golf when you glow is so much fun 😀

3D Blacklight Mini Golf

Lunch I grabbed some Asian fast food which was super tasty. Then later on for dinner I tucked into a steak at Tony Roma’s.

Lunch
Tony Roma’s
Steak

Across the street was the Hilton where they had Trader Vic’s, perfect for a cocktail.

Trader Vic’s
The metro was an easy 10 to 15 minute walk

I couldn’t fault my stay at the California Hostel. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the location was first class. I wish I had stayed here in the first place.


Leave a comment